Shut up and ride…

“Life is a roller coaster”

Lately, that phrase has been RELENTLESSLY proving itself true and I have desperately been trying to find the SLOW DOWN button…to no avail.The other day, my study time led me to Luke 22:31-32 where God told Peter “Hey Simon, Satan is about to try some foolery but don’t worry, I got you. I’ve already prayed that your faith won’t fail. And when you have turned back, strengthen your peeps”. Clearly that’s my translation but click the link and read it for yourself… Ha!

Anyway, the part that jumped out at me was v2: “But I have prayed for you, Simon, that your faith may not fail.”

Crickets.

I’ve read that scripture a million times not realizing what was happening. But that day, it leaped off the page!

In theory, Jesus is telling Peter “YOUR VICTORY IS ALREADY SOLIDIFIED BUT YOU’RE STILL GONNA HAVE TO TAKE THE RIDE”.

We later find Peter denying Jesus (multiple times), hiding with the other disciples, and struggling to believe in Himself and Jesus.

Siiiiigh…

This is JESUS we’re talking about, yall. The same man who speaks to storms and they calm down! So clearly, He could have eliminated ALL that Peter went through with just one word but instead, he allowed him to take the ride for the sake of PURPOSE. Purpose not just for Peter…but for others.

Let’s talk about it:

We all get to a place where we feel like life is completely out of control. But be encouraged. The ride truly is the best part if you let it.

Take your hands off the rail, raise them in the air and let God pull the car. Yes, it’s scary. No, you won’t always be comfortable with the sudden drops, twists, and turns…but go through the natural process knowing that He’s arranged your victory! You’re gonna be fine!

Keep shining,

❤️ Jess

Leave a comment